»Together, we can do better!«

Online event centered around the documentary “Picture a Scientist” and the theme of women in science, with a public lecture and panel discussion.

 

What are the challenges of women in the sciences and how far have we come with equality in research? These are questions that will be discussed at the online event »Together, we can do better!« on February 14, 2022. Marine researcher Antje Boetius will start with a lecture, followed by a panel discussion based on the documentary film “Picture a Scientist”.

Organized by Isabel Kilian and Jana Flury, PhD students at the Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change (LIB), the digital event focuses the topics of the film documentary “Picture a Scientist”. Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, director of the Alfred Wegener Institute in Bremen, will speak on “Women on board(s)! Exploring the path to a good place for all”. The subsequent panel discussion will address the obstacles women face in science, but more importantly, possible solutions on how to better implement gender equality at research institutes and in science. Participants are:

  • Prof. Dr. Diana Imhof, Universität Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Dobler, Universität Hamburg,
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Kappeler, Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen
  • Dr. Julia Schmid, Wissenschaftliche Referentin für das Thema Gleichstellung und Diversität in der Leibniz Gemeinschaft

The online event is based on the film “Picture a Scientist”. The film follows the careers of three female researchers and shows first-hand the gender-specific injustices women in science have to face. The initiators of the event, can – thanks to a grant from the European Society for Evolutionary Biology – distribute 100 streaming licenses within the LIB to draw attention to the issue of gender equality at research institutions. “We would like to contribute to improving awareness of unconscious gender bias and the associated consequences for women in science,” explain Isabel Kilian and Jana Flury. The funding will be used to support events or projects that raise awareness of inequalities, especially in the scientific environment, and contribute to better gender equality in science.

Gender inequality in science was an issue even before the pandemic: however, the Corona crisis has reinforced the disadvantage faced by female scientists over the past two years. Scientific studies revealed that women, especially those with children, had less time for their research activities during the lockdown than their male colleagues and published less, even though more scientific articles were published in journals overall.

 

Lecture & panel discussion in english

When: February14, 2022, 3:15 pm

Where: Online (Zoom)

Registration here:  https://test.idloom.events/picture-a-scientist

 

Contact

Isabel Kilian & Jana Flury

picture-a-scientist@leibniz-lib.de

RELATED ARTICLE

  • LIB, Research

    Genomes of “star algae” shed light on origin of plants

    How do land plants continuously adapt to their changing environmental conditions? This question was addressed by an international research team, including Dr. Iker Irisarri from the LIB. As part of their study, they generated the first genomes of four filamentous “star algae” – the closest relatives of land plants. The results were published on May 1st in the journal Nature Genetics.

    Learn more
  • LIB, Museums, Press releases

    Unique “Elmshorn” meteorite now on display at the Hamburg Museum of Nature Hamburg

    A meteorite of extraordinary significance has found its place in the Hamburg Museum of Nature. The “Elmshorn” meteorite, which fell from the sky near Hamburg on April 25, 2023, holds both scientific and cultural-historical importance.

    Learn more
  • LIB, Press releases

    A new butterfly species was created by two species hybridising 200,000 years ago

    While we think of the formation of new species as a process involving the division of one ancestral species into at least two new species, an international consortium involving researchers of the LIB has just demonstrated the formation of a new species through a hybridization process.

    Learn more

»Together, we can do better!«

Online-Veranstaltung rund um die Dokumentation „Picture a Scientist“ und das Thema Frauen in der Wissenschaft mit öffentlichen Vortrag und Podiumsdiskussion.

 

Was sind die Herausforderungen von Frauen in den Wissenschaften und wie weit sind wir mit der Gleichberechtigung in der Forschung? Das sind Fragen, die unter anderem bei der Online-Veranstaltung »Together, we can do better!« am 14. Februar 2022 diskutiert werden. Die Meeresforscherin Antje Boetius startet mit einem Vortrag und anschließend gibt es eine Podiumsdiskussion, die an den Dokumentarfilm „Picture a Scientist“ angelehnt ist.

Organisiert von Isabel Kilian und Jana Flury, Doktorandinnen am Leibniz-Institut zur Analyse des Biodiversitätswandels (LIB), dreht sich die digitale Veranstaltung rund um die Themen der Filmdokumentation „Picture a Scientist“. Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, Direktorin des Alfred-Wegener-Instituts in Bremen, spricht in diesem Zusammenhang über “Women on board(s)! Exploring the path to a good place for all”. Die anschließende Diskussionsrunde befasst sich mit den Hindernissen, mit denen Frauen in der Wissenschaft konfrontiert sind, aber vor allem mit möglichen Lösungsansätzen, wie die Gleichberechtigung an Forschungsinstituten und in der Wissenschaft besser umgesetzt werden kann. Teilnehmende sind:

  • Prof. Dr. Diana Imhof von der Universität Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Dobler von der Universität Hamburg,
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Kappeler von der Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen
  • Dr. Julia Schmid, Wissenschaftliche Referentin für das Thema Gleichstellung und Diversität in der Leibniz Gemeinschaft

Die Online-Veranstaltung ist angelehnt an den Film „Picture a Scientist“. Dieser folgt den Karrieren von drei Forscherinnen und zeigt hautnah welchen geschlechtsspezifischen Ungerechtigkeiten Frauen in der Wissenschaft sich stellen. Die Initiatorinnen der Veranstaltung, können – dank einer Förderung der European Society for Evolutionary Biology – innerhalb des LIB 100 Streaminglizenzen verteilen, um so auf das Thema Chancengleichheit der Geschlechter an Forschungsinstitutionen aufmerksam zu machen. „Wir möchten damit einen Beitrag leisten, um das Bewusstsein für unbewusste, geschlechtsspezifische Vorurteile und die damit verbundenen Folgen für Frauen in der Wissenschaft zu erhöhen“, erklären Isabel Kilian und Jana Flury. Mit den Fördergeldern werden Veranstaltungen beziehungsweise Projekte unterstützt, die für die Ungleichheiten zwischen den Geschlechtern besonders im Wissenschaftsumfeld sensibilisieren und zu einer besseren Gleichstellung in der Wissenschaft beitragen sollen.

Die Ungleichheit der Geschlechter in der Wissenschaft war bereits vor der Pandemie Thema: Die Coronakrise hat die Benachteiligung von Wissenschaftlerinnen in den letzten zwei Jahren jedoch verstärkt. Wissenschaftliche Studien deckten auf, dass Frauen, insbesondere mit Kindern, während des Lockdowns weniger Zeit für ihre Forschungstätigkeit hatten als ihre männlichen Kollegen und weniger publizierten, obwohl insgesamt mehr wissenschaftliche Artikel in Fachjournalen veröffentlicht wurden.

 

Vortrag & Diskussion in englischer Sprache

Wann: 14. Februar 2022, 15:15 Uhr

Wo: Online (Zoom)

Anmeldung unter: https://test.idloom.events/picture-a-scientist

 

Kontakt

Isabel Kilian & Jana Flury

picture-a-scientist@leibniz-lib.de

 

 

Verwandte Artikel

  • LIB, Wissensvermittlung

    Veranstaltungsprogramm Oktober 2022

    Digital und in Präsenz: Das Museum Koenig in Bonn und das Museum der Natur Hamburg bieten eine Bandbreite an Veranstaltungen an.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Gesichter des LIB, LIB

    Gesichter des LIB: Benjamin Wipfler

    Der Leiter des Morphologielabors in Bonn möchte die faszinierenden Möglichkeiten der morphologischen Methoden sichtbarer zu machen.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Forschung, LIB, Pressemitteilung

    Paneuropäische Genomforschung soll weltweit die biologische Vielfalt retten

    Expertinnen und Experten aus ganz Europa starten heute mit vereinten Kräften das paneuropäische Konsortium “Biodiversity Genomics Europe (BGE)”.

    Mehr erfahren