Launch of the LIB in Hamburg and Bonn

© pixabay

 

The future Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change (LIB) with sites in Bonn and Hamburg officially begins operations today. When the state treaty between North Rhine-Westphalia and the City of Hamburg comes into force, the Centre for Natural History (CeNak) of the University of Hamburg will be merged with the Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig – Leibniz Institute for Animal Biodiversity in Bonn. The core task of the LIB will be to jointly research global biodiversity change across locations and to disseminate the findings to the wider society in an educational manner.

Prof. Dr Bernhard Misof, Director General of the LIB: “With the LIB and its museums in Bonn and Hamburg, we have the opportunity to shine into society as a beacon of excellent, collection-based research. We develop cross-location and cross-thematic knowledge and guidance for tackling major societal challenges such as the progressive loss of biodiversity and environmental changes, including those caused by global warming. On these and other topics, we would like to enter into exchange with citizens and live our guiding goal of “biodiversity in dialogue”. We can all very much look forward to new opportunities to closely interweave research, collection, exhibition and outreach and to work together on a whole new form of research museum.”

With the launch of the LIB, extensive investments are planned in networking the two sites and renewing the infrastructure to enable excellent cross-site research. Around 90 new positions will be created by 2027, most of them at the Hamburg site. To this end, the Federal Government and the Länder will each provide an additional 8.8 million euros per year, half for the expansion in the final stage. In addition, the state of Hamburg is committing around 3 million euros annually, especially for museum tasks. The results of the new LIB are to be presented to the general public at both locations. The city of Hamburg is planning a new natural history museum for this purpose. The exact location is still open and is to be discussed across authorities. At the Bonn site, the building of the Museum Koenig is to be renovated. In addition, a new research building for the ZFMK is currently being built at the Bonn-Poppelsdorf site.

In summer 2020, the Joint Science Conference of the Federal Government and the Länder (GWK) had decided in favour of this merger of two research museums with locations in Hamburg and Bonn. The Leibniz Association had given the green light a year earlier.

To the joint press release of the Hamburg Science Authority and the NRW Science Ministry:

Milestone for natural history: launch of the Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change in Hamburg and Bonn – hamburg.de

RELATED ARTICLE

  • LIB

    Environment Week in Berlin – with the LIB!

    It’s getting really green in the park of Berlin’s Bellevue Palace: Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier and the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU) are inviting visitors to the palace park for Environment Week.

    Learn more
  • Faces of the LIB, LIB

    Face of the LIB: Marie Herberstein

    Marie Herberstein is looking for a different perspective, a fresh look at fixed structures, the creative side of change. The spider researcher has been observing what is happening at the LIB in Hamburg from the other side of the world. On April 15, the Australian with Austrian roots took over the leadership of the Center for Taxonomy and Morphology at the LIB.

    Learn more
  • LIB, Research

    Genomes of “star algae” shed light on origin of plants

    How do land plants continuously adapt to their changing environmental conditions? This question was addressed by an international research team, including Dr. Iker Irisarri from the LIB. As part of their study, they generated the first genomes of four filamentous “star algae” – the closest relatives of land plants. The results were published on May 1st in the journal Nature Genetics.

    Learn more

Start des LIB in Hamburg und Bonn

© pixabay

 

Das zukünftige Leibniz-Institut zur Analyse des Biodiversitätswandels (LIB) mit den Standorten Bonn und Hamburg nimmt heute offiziell seinen Betrieb auf. Mit Inkrafttreten des Staatsvertrages zwischen Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Stadt Hamburg wird das Centrum für Naturkunde (CeNak) der Universität Hamburg mit dem Zoologischen Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig – Leibniz-Institut für Biodiversität der Tiere in Bonn zusammengeführt. Kernaufgabe des LIB wird es sein, gemeinsam standortübergreifend den globalen Biodiversitätswandel zu erforschen und die Erkenntnisse aufklärend in die breite Gesellschaft zu tragen.

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Misof, Generaldirektor LIB: „Mit dem LIB und seinen Museen in Bonn und Hamburg bekommen wir die Chance, als Leuchtturm exzellenter, sammlungsbasierter Forschung in die Gesellschaft hinein zu strahlen. Wir erarbeiten standort- und themenübergreifend Wissen und Orientierungshilfen zur Bewältigung großer gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen wie dem fortschreitenden Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt und Umweltveränderungen auch durch Klimaerwärmung. Zu diesen und weiteren Themen möchten wir mit den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern in den Austausch kommen und unser Leitziel „Biodiversität im Dialog“ leben. Wir alle können uns sehr auf neue Möglichkeiten freuen, Forschung, Sammlung, Ausstellung und Vermittlung eng miteinander zu verweben und gemeinsam an einer ganz neuen Form eines Forschungsmuseums mitzuarbeiten.“

Mit dem Start des LIB sind umfassende Investitionen in die Vernetzung der beiden Standorte und die Erneuerung der Infrastruktur geplant, um eine exzellente standortübergreifende Forschung zu ermöglichen. Bis 2027 werden rund 90 neue Stellen geschaffen, die meisten davon am Standort Hamburg. Dafür stellen der Bund und die Länder jeweils zur Hälfte für die Erweiterung im Endausbau jährlich 8,8 Millionen Euro zusätzlich bereit. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich das Land Hamburg insbesondere für museale Aufgaben mit rund 3 Mio. Euro jährlich. Die Ergebnisse des neuen LIB sollen an beiden Standorten der breiten Öffentlichkeit präsentiert werden. Hierfür plant die Stadt Hamburg ein neues Naturkundemuseum. Die genaue Standortfrage ist noch offen und soll behördenübergreifend beraten werden. Am Standort Bonn soll das Gebäude des Museums Koenig renoviert werden. Zudem wird derzeit am Standort Bonn-Poppelsdorf ein neues Forschungsgebäude für das ZFMK gebaut.

Im Sommer 2020 hatte die Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz des Bundes und der Länder (GWK) für diesen Zusammenschluss zweier Forschungsmuseen mit Standorten in Hamburg und Bonn entschieden. Die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft hatte ein Jahr zuvor grünes Licht gegeben.

Zur gemeinsamen Pressemitteilung der Wissenschaftsbehörde Hamburg und des Wissenschaftsministeriums NRW:

Meilenstein für Naturkunde: Start des Leibniz-Institut zur Analyse des Biodiversitätswandels in Hamburg und Bonn – hamburg.de

Verwandte Artikel

  • LIB, LIB, LIB, Wissensvermittlung

    Veranstaltungsprogramm Juli 2022

    Digital und in Präsenz: Das Museum Koenig in Bonn und das Zoologische und Geologisch-Paläontologische Museum in Hamburg bieten eine Bandbreite an Veranstaltungen an.

    Mehr erfahren
  • © Marjan Seyedi
    Gesichter des LIB

    Gesichter des LIB: Martin Husemann

    Kulinarisch gibt er sich experimentierfreudig, wissenschaftlich ist er auf Ödlandschrecken spezialisiert.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Pressemitteilung

    Ein Jahr LIB: Gemeinsam forschen und handeln

    Mit vereinten Kräften die Natur erhalten und die Zukunft gestalten: Das LIB hat mit diesem Ziel vor einem Jahr seine Arbeit aufgenommen.

    Mehr erfahren