Scientific operation at two locations

At the Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change (LIB), scientists document the diversity of species and investigate their changes with and in their living environment. In doing so, they reconstruct the development of the fauna and investigate the type and extent of anthropogenic influence.

For their analyses, they draw on the valuable scientific collections comprising 15 million objects, which they are continuously expanding. Using state-of-the-art technology and various methods, they examine this reference database to answer relevant questions about our society for the future. By comparing current data and evidence from organisms, they can outline the influence of humans on the environment and model future development scenarios.

The LIB structures its work tasks in four centres that are networked with each other:

  • Centre for Taxonomy and Morphology: In addition to taxonomic and morphological research, evolutionary biological questions are at the forefront of the research of the scientists and their working groups. They analyse the origin of species, their phylogeny and classification as well as their adaptation to the environment.
  • Centre for Molecular Biodiversity Research: The analysis of completely sequenced genomes will play a fundamental role in phylogenetics and evolutionary biology in the foreseeable future. The study results and research methods are used to illustrate lineages and support the authorities in the reliable determination of species. The spectrum of tasks ranges from molecular taxonomy and barcoding, research on speciation processes and evolutionary genomics to bioinformatics and biobanking.
  • Centre for Biodiversity Monitoring and Conservation Research: Here, researchers face the challenges of global biodiversity decline. Their tasks include studies on the drivers of biodiversity change – but also technology development for modern monitoring. The extensively collected data is evaluated, taking into account current trends, up to and including climate research and agricultural and environmental policy.
  • Centre for knowledge transfer: Together with the other research museums of the Leibniz Association, the LIB is becoming a cornerstone of knowledge transfer. The explanation of biodiversity, its change and relevance for our society are at the centre of the programmes and activities. Educational and outreach programmes in cooperation with schools, universities and other educational institutions aim to raise awareness of the ecological challenges facing our planet.

For this purpose, a morphology, a molecular and an imaging laboratory are available at the Hamburg site. In Bonn, a morphology laboratory (μCTs, 3D computer, X-ray machine), several libraries, the Biohistoricum, the preparation studio, a scanning electron microscope, the biobank and a High Performance Computing Unit (HPC) with the highest technical standards are available. Many of the above-mentioned areas are not located in the main building known to the public. For example, the snake collection is housed in the “villa” of founder Alexander Koenig, his former home. The Biohistoricum and other infrastructures are located in a rented building. An innovative research building is currently being constructed on the university campus, which will make the library an attractive place to study and work with a high quality of stay.

Dr. Vera Zizka (Postdoc) in the project “Diversity of Insects in Nature Protected Areas” (DINA project) of the Museum Koenig Bonn and examines a sample at night.
Hamburg researchers are on expeditions all over the world. Here in Iceland on the IceAge expedition.
The morphological laboratory in Hamburg.
Impressive photographs of exhibits are taken in the Hamburg Imaging Lab.
Pipetting robots make our lives easier in the laboratory.
The Hamburg Dino Project is a cooperation between Hagenbeck’s Zoo, the University of Hamburg and the LIB.

Research news

  • LIB, Research

    The LIB in solidarity with Ukraine

    We stand in solidarity with the people of Ukraine and have put all forms of collaboration with Russian partner institutions on hold.

    Learn more
  • Museums, Special exhibitions

    „BONN, das KLIMA und WIR“ – Special exhibition at the Museum Koenig Bonn

    The opening on 1 October is the start of the poster and photo exhibition presenting initiatives from the Bonn for climate and nature protection.

    Learn more
  • Museums, Special exhibitions

    “Planet or Plastic?”: National Geographic photo exhibition in Bonn

    The exhibition at Museum Koenig Bonn aims to draw attention to the global plastic waste crisis and highlight solutions.

    Learn more

Wissenschaftlicher Betrieb an zwei Standorten

Am Leibniz-Institut zur Analyse des Biodiversitätswandels (LIB) dokumentieren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler die Vielfalt der Arten und untersuchen deren Veränderung mit und in ihrer Lebensumwelt. Dabei rekonstruieren sie die Entwicklung der Fauna und erforschen Art und Umfang des anthropogenen Einflusses.
Für ihre Analysen greifen sie auf die wertvollen, 15 Millionen Objekte umfassenden wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen zurück, die sie kontinuierlich erweitern. Mithilfe modernster Technologie und verschiedener Methoden untersuchen sie diese Referenzdatenbank, um relevante Fragen unserer Gesellschaft für die Zukunft zu beantworten. Im Abgleich mit aktuellen Daten und Belegen von Organismen können sie den Einfluss des Menschen auf die Umwelt skizzieren und zukünftige Entwicklungsszenarien modellieren.

Das LIB strukturiert seine Arbeitsaufgaben in vier Zentren, die mit einander vernetzt sind:

  • Zentrum für Taxonomie und Morphologie
    Neben taxonomischer und morphologischer Forschung stehen evolutionsbiologische Fragestellungen im Vordergrund der Forschung der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und deren Arbeitsgruppen. Dabei analysieren sie die Entstehung von Arten, ihre Stammesgeschichte und Klassifizierung sowie ihre Anpassung an die Umwelt.
  • Zentrum für molekulare Biodiversitätsforschung
    Die Analyse vollständig sequenzierter Genome wird in absehbarer Zukunft eine fundamentale Rolle in der Phylogenetik und Evolutionsbiologie spielen. Die Studienergebnisse und Forschungsmethoden dienen der Darstellung von Abstammungslinien und unterstützen die Behörden bei der sicheren Artbestimmung. Das Spektrum der Aufgaben reicht von molekularer Taxonomie und Barcoding, über Forschung zu Artbildungsprozessen und Evolutionärer Genomik bis zu Bioinformatik und zum Biobanking.
  • Zentrum für Biodiversitätsmonitoring und Naturschutzforschung
    Hier stellen sich die Forschenden den Herausforderungen des weltweiten Biodiversitätsrückgang. Ihr Aufgabenbereich umfasst Studien zu den Treibern des Biodiversitätswandels – aber auch Technologieentwicklung für ein modernes Monitoring. Die umfangreich erhobenen Daten werden unter Berücksichtigung aktueller Trends bis hin zur Klimaforschung und Agrar- und Umweltpolitik ausgewertet.
  • Zentrum für Wissenstransfer
    Das LIB wird gemeinsam mit den anderen Forschungsmuseen der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft zu einem Eckpfeiler der Wissensvermittlung. Die Erklärung der Biodiversität, ihres Wandels und Relevanz für unsere Gesellschaft stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt der Programme und Aktivitäten. Mit Bildungs- und Vermittlungsprogrammen soll in Kooperation mit Schulen, Universitäten und anderen Bildungseinrichtungen das Bewusstsein für die ökologischen Herausforderungen auf unserem Planeten gestärkt werden.

Hierfür stehen am Standort Hamburg ein Morphologie-, ein Molekular- und ein Imaging-Labor zur Verfügung. In Bonn dienen ein Morphologie-Labor (μCTs, 3D-Computer, Röntgengerät), mehrere Bibliotheken, das Biohistoricum, das Präparationsatelier, ein Raster-Elektronenmikroskop, die Biobank sowie eine High Performance Computing Unit (HPC) mit höchsten technischen Standards zur Verfügung. Viele der genannten Bereiche befinden sich nicht in dem der Öffentlichkeit bekannten Hauptgebäude. So ist die Schlangensammlung in der „Villa“ des Gründers Alexander Koenig untergebracht, seinem ehemaligen Wohnhaus. Das Biohistoricum und andere Infrastrukturen befinden sich in einem angemieteten Gebäude. Auf dem Campus der Universität entsteht gerade ein innovatives Forschungsgebäude, das die Bibliothek zu einem attraktiven Lern- und Arbeitsort mit hoher Aufenthaltsqualität machen wird.

Dr. Vera Zizka (Postdoc) im Projekt „Diversity of Insects in Nature Protected Areas“ (DINA-Projekt) des Museum Koenig und begutachtet bei Nacht eine Probe.
Hamburger Forschende sind für Expeditionen auf der ganzen Welt unterwegs. Hier bei Island bei der IceAge-Expedition.
Das morphologische Labor in Hamburg.
Im Hamburger Imaging-Lab enstehen eindrucksvolle Aufnahmen von Exponaten.
Pipettier-Roboter erleichtern uns im Labor das Leben.
Das Hamburger Dino-Projekt ist eine Kooperation zwischen Hagenbecks Tierpark, der Universität Hamburg und des LIB.

News zu Forschung

  • Forschung

    LIB-Forscher schlägt Abwägung von Maßnahmen für effizienteren Artenschutz vor

    In einem Perspektivartikel diskutiert Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hausdorf Konflikte zwischen Artenschutzzielen und den dazu notwendigen Maßnahmen.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Forschung

    Dinos auf den Zahn gefühlt: Was fraßen die Urzeitechsen?

    „Die Hamburger Dinos werden eine Schlüsselrolle im Projekt spielen.“ Humboldtstipendiat Emanuel Tschopp will über die Abnutzung und den Wechsel der Zähne mehr über die Lebensweise der Langhalssaurier erfahren.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Forschung, Pressemitteilung, Wissensvermittlung

    Zahl gebietsfremder Arten steigt – Portal für Funde erweitert

    Das Fundstellenportal für Hamburg und Umgebung, das über gebietsfremde sowie invasive Arten informiert, erhält weitere Zuschüsse und wird ausgebaut. Auf dem Portal www.neobiota-hamburg.de können Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Funde direkt melden.

    Mehr erfahren