Faces of the LIB: Bernhard Misof

©ZFMK, Bernhard Misof

 

As Director General, he now occupies the highest management level at the Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change (LIB): Prof. Dr Bernhard Misof starts our series “Faces of the LIB”, in which we introduce all those who research, collect, design, communicate and contribute to the success of the LIB. With the founding of the LIB, he is responsible for the locations in Bonn and Hamburg. He sets the tone for the future content orientation of the Institute.

What brought you to biology?

I developed a passion for nature and biology at an early age. At the age of four, my grandfather introduced me to the world of butterflies and thus further encouraged my passion for living creatures. Although I already had the desire to go out into the world when I was in primary school, I first studied biology in Vienna. After my diploma thesis on questions of evolutionary developmental biology, I was drawn to Yale University in the USA. When my wife’s residence visa expired in 1995, we had to return to Europe. We had met during our studies on an excursion to the Maldives. In the meantime, my family and especially my five grown-up children ensure that my private life remains exciting.

What challenges now await you as Director General of the LIB?

As a scientist, I am now faced with many unfamiliar and unusual tasks: The management of my own house, the staff and the cooperation with the administration were well-rehearsed until now. Now another large
museum in Hamburg is being integrated with many new colleagues. We want to successively and creatively expand new academic centres together with our staff.

What motivates you and satisfies you in your work?

The great thing about working as Director General is the combination of scientific work and dealing with people – on the one hand with our own staff and on the other with visitors. To develop this Leibniz Institute into a unique forum for the exchange of content on biodiversity change is a great incentive for me. I want to gather a lot of facts and hear different, professional opinions. Thanks to digital progress, it is even now possible to discuss with experts and the public regardless of location. My goal is to use innovative methods and fresh ideas to better understand and explain the changes in biodiversity.

What aspect of your everyday professional life is your highlight?

Working together with the many colleagues. The exchange with them on issues of biodiversity analysis, outreach, implementation of ideas are my highlights. University work is usually not as diverse as work at a research museum. On the one hand, this is of course challenging, and on the other hand, it always brings one at least with one leg to the edge of the unknown, the misunderstood and also sometimes of ignorance. In addition, as “museum people” we have to feel the changes in our society in order to be able to react to them. Developing this sensitivity requires a lot from each of us.

Is the appointment as LIB Director General your greatest professional success so far?

Of course, I am honoured to bear this responsible title. Being the Director General of the LIB is also a job with a lot of responsibility and obligations. Professional success cannot really be measured. I see our two houses in Hamburg and Bonn as a great gain – where it was visibly possible in the team to move people, to break through entrenched lines of action and to create something new. These are then successes of the team.

You always wanted to become a biologist and you did. Would an alternative have been conceivable if it hadn’t worked out after all?

From the outside, my life path actually seems to be very straight. Natural sciences since childhood – the desire to become a scientist – for as long as I can remember. However, I deliberately chose this path as a teenager – in a phase when
I wanted to reflect on my life and determine my own future. I always see both my artistic and scientific interests as being closely linked in scientific activity. I really never thought about doing anything else.

Have you ever thought you had made a mistake?

People succumb to errors every day. Reflection is crucial. As a director, but not only as a director, you have to make many decisions every day. The important thing is to recognise mistakes and correct them.

What social challenges does the LIB now have to face?

The extensive loss of biodiversity has a major impact on the future of us humans and society. Our research museum has the task of bringing this problem to the attention of the general public and explicitly presenting its consequences for all of us. We have a future obligation in the sense of long-term, intergenerational conservation strategies. We pursue the guiding principle: researching and conserving biodiversity.

About Prof. Dr Bernhard Misof
He has been General Director of the LIB since 1 July 2021. Previously, he was acting director of the Museum Koenig. In this role, Misof has already successfully guided the house through the Leibniz Association’s rigorous evaluation process twice, thus accompanying an in-depth examination of the quality of work at the institute. Since 1 May 2020, he has headed the Museum Koenig as director and now assumes the function of general director at the LIB. After his habilitation and venia legendi at the University of Bonn in 2002, Misof was also employed at the University of Copenhagen and the Zoological Museum of the University of Hamburg. He has been a professor at the University of Bonn since 2010 and was head of the Centre for Molecular Biodiversity Research there for ten years.

RELATED ARTICLE

  • Faces of the LIB, LIB

    Face of the LIB: Marie Herberstein

    Marie Herberstein is looking for a different perspective, a fresh look at fixed structures, the creative side of change. The spider researcher has been observing what is happening at the LIB in Hamburg from the other side of the world. On April 15, the Australian with Austrian roots took over the leadership of the Center for Taxonomy and Morphology at the LIB.

    Learn more
  • Faces of the LIB, LIB

    Face of the LIB: Peter Konstantinidis

    Just a few months ago, Peter Konstantinidis was still frequently out on the US Pacific watching whales. Since mid-January, he has been responsible for Germany’s largest fish collection as the new curator of ichthyology at the Museum der Natur Hamburg.

    Learn more
  • Faces of the LIB, LIB

    Faces of LIB: Camilla Bruno Di Nizo

    For Camilla B. Di Nizo, scientific work brings new surprises every day. Running the cell culture lab within the Biobank in LIB, she has preserved viable material from more than 100 species.

    Learn more

Gesichter des LIB: Bernhard Misof

©ZFMK, Bernhard Misof

 

Als Generaldirektor bekleidet er nun die höchste Leitungsebene im Leibniz-Institut zur Analyse des Biodiversitätswandels (LIB): Mit Prof. Dr. Bernhard Misof startet unsere Reihe „Gesichter des LIB“, in der wir all diejenigen vorstellen, die für das LIB forschen, sammeln, gestalten, kommunizieren und ihren Beitrag zum Erfolg beisteuern. Er ist mit der Gründung des LIB für die Standorte in Bonn und Hamburg verantwortlich. Den Ton für die künftige inhaltliche Ausrichtung des Instituts stimmt er an.

Was hat Sie zur Biologie geführt?

Schon früh entwickelte ich eine Leidenschaft für die Natur und die Biologie. Mit vier Jahren hat mir mein Großvater die Welt der Schmetterlinge nahegebracht und damit die Leidenschaft für die Lebewesen weiter gefördert. Obwohl ich schon zu Grundschulzeiten den Wunsch hatte, in die Welt hinauszugehen, studierte ich zunächst Biologie in Wien. Nach meiner Diplomarbeit zu Fragen der evolutionären Entwicklungsbiologie zog es mich an die Yale University in die USA. Als dann 1995 das Aufenthaltsvisum meiner Frau ablief, mussten wir zurück nach Europa. Wir hatten uns während des Studiums während einer Exkursion auf den Malediven kennengelernt. Inzwischen sorgen meine Familie und vor allem meine fünf erwachsenen Kinder dafür, dass es auch in meinem Privatleben spannend bleibt.

Welche Herausforderungen warten nun auf Sie als Generaldirektor des LIB?

Mit der Aufgabe kommen nun für mich als Wissenschaftler viele ungewohnte und auch ungewöhnliche Aufgaben zu: Das Management des eigenen Hauses, des Personals und die Zusammenarbeit mit der Verwaltung waren bis jetzt eingespielt. Nun wird ein großes weiteres
Museum in Hamburg mit vielen neuen Kolleginnen und Kollegen integriert. Neue wissenschaftliche Zentren wollen wir sukzessiv und kreativ gemeinsam mit unseren Mitarbeitenden ausbauen.

Was motiviert Sie und stellt Sie in Ihrer Arbeit zufrieden?

Das Schöne an der Arbeit als Generaldirektor ist die Kombination aus wissenschaftlicher Arbeit und dem Umgang mit den Menschen – einerseits mit den eigenen Mitarbeitenden als auch mit den Besuchenden. Dieses Leibniz-Institut zu einem einzigartigen Forum des inhaltlichen  Austauschs über den Biodiversitätswandel auszubauen, ist für mich ein großer Anreiz. Ich möchte viele Fakten zusammentragen und unterschiedliche, fachliche Meinungen wahrnehmen. Dank des digitalen Fortschritts ist es sogar nun möglich, ortsunabhängig mit der Fachwelt und Öffentlichkeit diskutieren. Mein Ziel ist es, innovative Methoden und frische Ideen einzusetzen, um die Veränderung der biologischen Vielfalt immer besser zu verstehen und zu erklären.

Welcher Aspekt Ihres Berufsalltags ist Ihr Highlight?

Mit den vielen Kolleginnen und Kollegen zusammenzuarbeiten. Der Austausch mit ihnen zu Fragen der Biodiversitätsanalyse, der Vermittlung, der Umsetzung von Ideen sind meine Highlights. Universitäre Arbeit ist in der Regel nicht so vielfältig wie die Arbeit an einem Forschungsmuseum. Das ist einerseits natürlich herausfordernd und bringt einen andererseits immer zumindest mit einem Bein an den Rand des Unbekannten, des Unverstandenen und auch manchmal der Unwissenheit. Zusätzlich gilt, dass wir als „Museumsmenschen“ die Veränderungen unserer Gesellschaft spüren müssen, um darauf reagieren zu können. Diese Sensibilität zu entwickeln, verlangt von jedem von uns sehr viel.

Ist die Ernennung zum LIB-Generaldirektor ihr bislang größter beruflicher Erfolg?

Natürlich fühle ich mich geehrt, dass ich diesen verantwortungsvollen Titel tragen darf. Der Generaldirektor des LIB zu sein, ist auch eine Aufgabe mit viel Verantwortung und Verpflichtungen.  Beruflicher Erfolg lässt sich nicht wirklich messen. Ich sehe als großen Gewinn unsere beiden Häuser in Hamburg und Bonn – wo es sichtbar im Team geschafft wurde, Menschen zu bewegen, eingefahrene Handlungsstränge zu durchbrechen und Neues zu schaffen. Dies sind dann Erfolge des Teams.

Sie wollten schon immer Biologe werden und sind es geworden. Wäre eine Alternative denkbar gewesen, wenn es doch nicht geklappt hätte?

Von außen betrachtet scheint mein Lebensweg tatsächlich sehr gerade zu verlaufen. Naturwissenschaften seit meiner Kindheit – der Wunsch Wissenschaftler zu werden – solange ich denken kann. Allerdings habe ich diesen Weg als Jugendlicher bewusst gewählt – in einer Phase, als
ich mein Leben stark reflektiert und meine Zukunft selbst bestimmen wollte. Ich sehe in wissenschaftlicher Tätigkeit sowohl mein künstlerisches als auch mein wissenschaftliches Interesse immer eng miteinander verbunden. Ich habe wirklich nie darüber nachgedacht, etwas anderes zu machen.

Haben Sie schon mal gemeint, einem Irrtum zu erliegen?

Irrtümern erliegt man täglich. Entscheidend ist die Reflexion. Als Direktor, aber nicht nur als Direktor ist das so, dass man an jedem Tag viele Entscheidungen treffen muss. Das wichtige ist Fehler zu erkennen und sie zu korrigieren.

Welchen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen muss sich das LIB nun stellen?

Der umfassende Verlust an Biodiversität hat einen großen Einfluss auf die Zukunft von uns Menschen und der Gesellschaft. Unser Forschungsmuseum hat den Auftrag diese Problematik in die breite Öffentlichkeit zu tragen und ihre Folgen für uns alle explizit darzustellen. Wir haben eine Zukunftsverpflichtung im Sinne langfristiger generationenübergreifender Erhaltungsstrategien. Wir verfolgen das Leitmotiv: Artenvielfalt erforschen und erhalten.

Über Prof. Dr. Bernhard Misof
Seit dem 1. Juli 2021 ist er Generealdirektor des LIB. Zuvor leitete er kommissarisch das Museum Koenig. In dieser Funktion hat Misof das Haus bereits zweimal erfolgreich durch die strengen Evaluierungsverfahrung der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft gelotst und somit eine tiefgehende Prüfung der Arbeitsqualität am Institut begleitet. Seit dem 1. Mai 2020 leitet er das Museum Koenig als Direktor und nimmt nun die Funktion eines Generaldirektors am LIB ein. Nach seiner Habilitation und venia legendi an der Universität Bonn 2002, war Misof auch an der Universität Kopenhagen und dem Zoologischen Museum der Universität Hamburg beschäftigt. Seit 2010 ist er als Professor an der Universität Bonn tätig und war dort zehn Jahre lang Leiter des Zentrums für Molekulare Biodiversitätsforschung.

Verwandte Artikel

  • Gesichter des LIB, LIB

    Gesichter des LIB – Oriana Wojewski–Yelle

    Sie lernt am Museum Koenig, wie innovative Forschung mit spannenden Veranstaltungen vermittelt wird.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Gesichter des LIB, LIB

    Gesichter des LIB: Alexander Haas

    Der Leiter des Zentrums für Taxonomie und Morphologie ist unser Gesicht des LIB im August.

    Mehr erfahren